Nepal's 15-member squad announced for upcoming ICC WC Qualifier

KATHMANDU: A 15-member squad has been selected for the upcoming ICC World Cup Qualifier tournament being held in Zimbabwe from March 4 to March 24.

Paras Khadka will lead the Nepali side, which comprises mostly of the players that had participated in the recently held ICC World Cricket League Division II tournament in Namibia.

ICC Representative Aminul Islam, Head Coach of Nepal Jagat Tamatta, and Captain of the Nepali side Paras Khadka headed the selection committee.

The names to have made way in the freshly announced squad are as follows:


1. Paras Khadka (Captain)

2. Gyanendra Malla (Vice Captain)

3. Shakti Gauchan 

4. Basant Regmi

5. Sharad Vesawkar

6. Sompal Kami

7. Karan KC

8. Md. Arif Sheikh

9. Sandeep Lamichhane

10. Dipendra Singh Airee

11. Dilip Nath

12. Lalit Bhandari

13. Anil Kumar Sah

14. Rohit Kumar Paudel

15. Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi 

Reserve Players

1. Sunil Dhamala

2. Kishor Mahato

3. Siddhant Lohani

4. Binod Bhandari

Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi is a new addition to the team.


Nepal, which is in the Group B of the WC Qualifier tournament will play:

  • Zimbabwe on March 4
  • Scotland on March 8
  • Afghanistan on March 10
  • Hong Kong on March 12

The top three teams of both the groups will reach the Super-6 round which will be based on a league format.

West Indies, UAE, Ireland, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea comprise Group A.

The top two teams in the Super-6 league will qualify to play for the ICC World Cup to be held in 2019.

Meanwhile, four associate teams will be accorded recognition of one-day side at the end of the World Cup Qualifier tournament.