Niraula, Joshi clinch chess titles

Ilam, May 24

Candidate Master Bhupendra Niraula of Jhapa and Sindira Joshi of Kathmandu won the titles of the national championships here today.

Niraula, who had already confirmed the trophy after taking an unassailable lead after eighth round, faced a defeat at the hands of FIDE Master Bilamlal Shrestha in the ninth and final round of the 19th edition of the championship. Niraula earned seven points.

Sajin Maharjan of Lalitpur finished second with 6.5 points after he defeated former Nepal champion Nabin Tandukar in the final round, while Keshav Shrestha shared points with Tribhuvan Army Club’s Himal Lama and came third with six points. Kshitiz Bhandari of Kavre and Bilamlal Shrestha of Lalitpur were fourth and fifth respectively.

In the women’s fourth national championship, Joshi won the title under Buchholz System Tiebreaker after she was tied on seven points with Shanta Thapa and Monalisa Khamboo. Thapa came second and Khamboo finished third, while Sujana Lohani and Asmita Adhikari were fourth and fifth respectively. The top five players will represent Nepal in the 42nd Chess Olympiad to be held in Azerbaijan from September 1-15. Nepal Olympic Committee Vice-president Purendra Bikram Lakhe handed over the prizes to the winners of the championships organised by Nepal Chess Association under the auspices of Ilam District Chess Association.