NOC fetes Khadgi

LALITPUR: Nepal Olympic Committee has felicitated young taekwondo player Melisa Khadgi, who won gold medal in the International Poomsae Taekwondo Championship in Hong Kong earlier this year.

NOC President Jeevan Ram Shrestha handed over a letter of felicitation to Khadgi. Shrestha lauded Khadgi’s performance and congratulated her for the achievement at the age of 12.

“Winning gold medal in an international championship at the age of 12 is incredible,” said Shrestha. “Keep up the good work and all the best for future tournaments,” he added.

Coca-Cola Cup

LALITPUR: HIMS School of Kathmandu beat Mahendra HS School of Makwanpur 3-2 in the Group B match of the Coca-Cola Cup Boys’ Football Tournament final round here at the ANFA Complex on Monday.

Dgyal Singhi Lama, Sonam Tamang and Nawang Tenzing Lama scored a goal each for HIMS, while Abhisekh Sikari netted a brace for Mahendra. In Group C, Halchowk HS School of Kathmandu defeated Sainik School of Kaski 5-4 on penalties after both the teams played goalless draw in regular 70 minutes.

In Group D, Sandesh Khanal scored a hat-trick as Gajurmukhi School of Kathmandu registered a 3-2 win over Bhanubhakta Memorial of Morang. Suraj Dhimal and Lalit Kumar Tamang netted a goal each for Bhanubhakta.

Cricketers picked up

KATHMANDU: An 18-member squad was picked up for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifiers (Asia region) slated for October 9-15 in Hong Kong.

The panel of coaches Jagat Tamatta, Binod Das and Raju Basnet selected the players who were under closed-camp training.

Rubina Chhetri, Sita Rana Magar, Kajol Shrestha, Shova Ale, Nary Thapa Magar, Neera Rajopadhyay, Roshani Bohara, Sabnam Rai, Laxmi Chaudhary, Sangita Rai, Indu Barma, Jyoti Pandey, Saraswati Chaudhary, Anuradha Chaudhary, Rashmi Sharma, Nirmala Shahi, Karuna Bhandari and Sarita Magar made it to the squad.

Coach Basnet informed the final 14 players will be announced by September 27. There were 24 cricketers in the closed camp training. Nepal will play against Hong Kong, Thailand and China in the qualifiers.

Team finishing at the top after double round robin matches will earn berth in the global qualifiers.