Pokhara Paltan beat Chitwan Rhinos by 3-wicket to lift PPL title

KATHMANDU: Pokhara Paltan defeated Chitwan Rhinos by three wickets and four balls to spare to lift the Namaste Pokhara Premier League in Pokhara Stadium on Tuesday.

Man of the match Ravi Inder Singh blistering innings of 90 runs off just 58 deliveries studded with thirteen fours and three towering sixes propelled his team to overcome spirited home side to clinch the coveted trophy in majestic Pokhara Stadium.

Sarad Vesawkar's Pokhara Paltan not only defeated Paras Khadka's Chitwan Rhinos but also ended Khadka's hoodoo at the Pokhara Stadium.

Paltan won the toss and elected to field first and restricted Rhinos for a formidable total of 160/5 in their allotted 20 overs. In reply, Paltan rode on Ravi Inder Singh's flamboyant innings to canter victory in the title showdown today.

Skipper Khadka hammered 51 runs off 37 balls including nine fours and Sunny Patel scored whirlwind 43 runs off 21 balls with three fours and four sixes.

Krishna Karki took two wickets while Mohammad Naveed and Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi bagged a wicket each.

Paltan's made a disastrous start as they lost opener Kushal Bhurtel for four runs in the opening over. However, Aasif Sheikh and Ravi Inder Singh shared 61-run for the second wicket to lay the foundation for the run chase.

Mohammad Naveed and Vesawkar contributed 25 runs and 22 runs respectively in the winning cause.

Bhuwan Karki was the pick of a bowler with two wickets and Karan KC, Sunny Patel, Paras Khadka took a wicket each.

After winning the title, Paltan bagged a purse of cash prize Rs 2.7 million along with trophy, medals and certificates while the runner-up collected Rs 1 million cash prize, trophy, medals, and certificates.

Pokhara Paltan's Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi and Rashaid Khan were awarded Most Valuable Player and Emerging Player respectively and collected Rs 1 lakh, medal and certificates each.

Rhinos Sunny Patel won the man of the series award, Karan KC bagged the best bowler award, Hulas Kathmandu Royal's Gaurav Tamor won the best batsman award and received 155 CC Suzuki Gixxer bikes each.