PPL prizes announced

KATHMANDU: Queens Event Management Pvt Ltd today announced the prize money of the Namaste Pokhara Premier League beginning here at the Pokhara Stadium on Saturday.

The winners of the premier Twenty20 league will receive Rs 2.7 million, while the runners-up will get one million rupees, informed the Queens Event Management in a release.

A total of six city-based franchise teams — Biratnagar Titans, Pokhara Paltan, Butwal Blasters, Chitawan Rhinos, Kathmandu Golden Warriors and Dhangadhi Blues — will take part in the tournament.

The best three players — man of the series, batsman and bowler — will get TVS motorcycles from Jagadamba Motors, while the most valuable player and emerging cricketer will be awarded with Rs 100,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively.

Likewise, man of the match in every game will earn Rs 10,000 sponsored by Nepal Telecom. Defending champions Pokhara Paltan will take on Kathmandu Golden Warriors in the opening match on Saturday.

Top team after the league will make it to the final, while next two sides will face each other in the eliminator for a place in the final.