Rana resigns; new committee proposed

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, June 28:

The Special Meeting of Nepal Amateur Athletics Association (NAAA) proposed a nine-member committee, under the presidency of Bishwo Prakash Thapa. The meeting proposed the ad hoc committee after Rukma Shumsher Rana, president of NAAA, resigned from his post. Kishor Bahadur Singh, member secretary of National Sports Council, instructed the meeting to form a committee which will hold the elections within a month. The meeting proposed the committee to NSC, which will recognise the members on Wednesday. Other members are Baikuntha Manandhar (vice presid-ent) Sushil Narsingh Rana (general se-cretary), Kamal Lama (treasurer) and members Asit Rana, Malati Sodari, Dhirendra Kumar Shrestha, Punya Prasad Sigdel and Narayan Pradhan.

Three Star get $15,000

LALITPUR: ANFA president Ganesh Thapa, who is also the chairman of the AFC President’s Cup Football Tournament organising committee, handed over a cheque of $15,000 to the president of Three Star Club Lalit Krishna Shrestha today. The amount was granted by the AFC to the club of the host nation. TSC took part in the first edition of the President’s Cup, held in Kathmandu from May 4-14. On the occasion, the club also honoured karate player Deepak Shrestha and chief instructor and vice president of Nepal Shotokan Karate Association Niwas Gopal Baidya.

Gyan Bhairav win

KATHMANDU: Amit KC, Ramesh Gurung, Ramesh Man Singh Basnet and Prasiddha Kirat scored a goal each as Gyan Bhairav Club blanked Cannon Club 4-0 in the Martyrs’ Memorial

‘C’ Division League. In other matches, Sanepa Club and Deepshikha Club played a 1-1 draw; Naxal Yuva Mandal beat Garuda Club 3-2; and Samajik Club beat Samakhushi Club 6-1. Krishna Lama scored the fastest goal so far, in 24 seconds for Samakhushi.

KCC enter semis

LALITPUR: Kantipur City College (KCC) defeated Nepal College of Information Technology (NCIT) 3-2 on penalties to enter the semi-finals of the NCE Cup Inter-technical College Football Tournament, which has been organised by National Students’ Council of National College of Engineering (NCE). The match went into tie breaker after both teams were locked at 1-1. Ashish Shrestha of KCC and Aman Thakali of NCIT had scored. In another match, Gaurav Grung scored two goals as Nepal Engineering College beat NCE ‘Blue’ to advance to the round of last eight.