Rupandehi to clash with Chitwan in final

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, January 6

Rupandehi and Chitwan district teams are playing in the boys’ section final of the National ANFA-Mayos Inter-School Football Tournament here at Dasharath Stadium on Wednesday.

Rupandehi took berth in the title clash beating Morang 4-1 in breaker in the semi-final match held at Sano Gaucharan ground on Tuesday. In other semi-final match held at Buddhi Bikash Mandal ground, Lagankhel, Chitwan edged out Lalitpur 2-1.

The National tournament has been jointly organised by education and sports ministry, National Sports Council, Japan Football Association and All Nepal Football Association, under the sponsorship of Himalayan Noodles and Snacks Pvt Ltd to mark the 33rd birthday of Crown Prince Paras.

In all, 36 teams were selected for the tournament from district-level tournaments held under the auspices of respective District Football Associations. The central-level tournament began on December 30 at Dasharath Stadium and preliminary round matches were held at Sano Gaucharan ground, Buddhi Bikash Mandal ground, Police Training Centre, ANFA Complex and Jawalakhel Youth Club ground.

The teams were divided into nine grous of four each and top team each from all groups advanced to the second round. Kathamndu, lamjung, Parsa, Rupandehi, Kavrepalanchok, Lalitpur, Chitwan, Banke and Morang advanced to the second round.

After the tournament, the organisers will select a team which will take part in an International Invitational Tournament to be held in October.