Sangina, Rajendra win PoY award

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, July 2:

Taekwondo star Sangina Baidya and athlete Rajendra Bhandari won the Players of the Year 2060 awards here today. Both national players have been awarded with Rs 5,001 and trophy.

Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) selected the players for the top award. Sangina won gold medal in recently concluded ninth South Asian (SAF) Games in Islamabad and also qualified for the Athens Games, becoming the first Nepali athlete to qualify for Olympics.

Rajendra was selected for the award for being the first Nepali to win two silver medals in two different events — 5,000 metre and 3,000 metre steeple chase — in the 9th SAF. Sangina, who returned from her training in Korea after falling sick, said,”I am happy to recieve the award and I feel like doing more”. On the other hand, Rajendra said,”The award has encouraged me to do better in the 10th SAF Games”.

Vice president of National Sports Council (NSC) and president of All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) Ganesh Thapa and member secretary of NSC Kishor Bahadur Singh gave away the awards to the stars. Speaking on the occasion, ANFA president Thapa said the NSJF has taken a good step forward to encourage the rising sportspersons and his association would also give its full support in the forum’s development. Singh also had the same view. He said,” Programme like this will certainly encourage the players and such functions should be organised on regular basis.” Narayan Upadhyay, convenor of the five-member players selection committee, made it clear that the players have been chosen on the basis of their international performance.

Other nominees in women’s section were Renuka Thapa Magar and Rupa Syangden, both gold medallists in the ninth SAF Games in Taekwondo, Mira Maharjan, who scored two goals in the Asian Women’s Football held in China and her teammate Anu Lama. Nominees in the men’s section were Ninth SAF gold medallists Deepak Bista (karate) and Deepak Shrestha (taekwondo), promising footballer Bikash Malla and cricketer Shakti Gauchan, who was named man of the match against South Africa and Uganda in the Under-19 World Cup. NSJF president Niranjan Rajbansi, vice president Rajendra Gyawali, general secretary Hemanta Kafle also expressed their views on the occasion.