Sankata Club defeated African Roots Association in tie-breaker to win the title of the 19th Aaha-Rara Gold Cup here at the Pokhara Stadium today.

The prestigious knockout football tournament's final match was decided on penalties after both the teams were deadlocked at 1-1 in the regulation period and they failed to score in extra time. The 'A' division outfit, Sankata converted four penalties in tie-breaker to claim their maiden title in Pokhara, while ARA managed just two.

Amit Tamang, Subash Gurung, Neeraj Basnet and Ayush Ghalan scored from the spot for Sankata, while skipper Saroj Dahal had his shot blocked by ARA goalkeeper DA Sylvio.

K Yanick and Rim were the only two players who converted their attempts for ARA, while Kuete shot wide off the post and Sankata goalkeeper Raja Babu Thapa saved R Mbakop's shot.

Earlier, Basscek put ARA ahead in the 10th minute when he slotted home from close range following a brilliant pass from Moussa, while Glory levelled the scores for Sankata seven minutes into the second half. A total of eight teams took part in the tournament organised by Sahara Club. Sankata custodian Raja Babu Thapa was declared the best player of the tournament and he also bagged the best goalkeeper's award, while his teammate Neeraj Basnet was named the best defender.

ARA trio Rim, Basscek and Serge Boris were adjudged the best midfielder, striker and coach respectively.

Champions Sankata Club received one million rupees, while runners-up ARA earned Rs 500,000.

Player of the series Thapa received Aprilia scooter and Rs 25,000, while other best individuals earned Rs 25,000 each.

Gandaki Province Chief Minister Prithvi Subba Gurung and Sahara Club President Keshav Thapa among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 11, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.