Santoo Shrestha of Nepal Police Club and Trisha Paul of Anshul Garg Academy won the singles titles of the fourth Samjhana Cup International Table Tennis Tournament here at the Lainchaur covered hall today.

Nepal champion Shrestha came from a set down to defeat Swarnendu Chaudhary of India's Virtues 6-11, 11-3, 11-9, 13-11, 11-4 in the men's singles final.

Bank of Baroda duo Nitin and Shree Krishna finished joint third. In all-India women's singles final, Paul beat Avani Tripathi 11-7, 11-9, 8-11, 11-6, 11-5.

Tanisha Molani and Filjah Fatima of Indian teams finished joint third.

NG Pingpong Club duo Chandan Shahi (above-40) and Rajan Subba (above-55) won veteran singles gold medals for Nepal.

Three gold medals went to Indian teams with Bank of Baroda claiming the men and women team events. Top three in singles and team events received Rs 50,000, Rs 25,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively, while winners in veteran sections got Rs 10,000, Rs 5,000 and Rs 2,500.

A total of 347 players from Nepal and 38 from India took part in the tournament organised by Lalitpur Table Tennis Club under the sponsorship of Samjhana Laboratory Clinic.

Bagmati Province Member of Parliament Rajkaji Maharjan, All Nepal Table Tennis Association President Chatura Nanda Rajvaidhya, Lalitpur Table Tennis Club President Urdip Joshi and Samjhana Laboratory Clinic Director Rajana Shrestha Joshi handed over the prizes to the winners.

Meanwhile, the organisers felicitated South Asian Federation Games gold medal winner Sijran Shah with Lifetime Achievement Award. Shah and Geeta Chhetri had bagged team event gold medal in the 1991 SAF Games held in Sri Lanka.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 3, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.