Nepal | September 22, 2019

Team announced


Himalayan News Service

LALITPUR: National volleyball team head coach Hann Abing on Thursday finalised the 14-member squad for the AVC Asian Senior Men’s Central Zone Volleyball Tournament to be held at the Nepali Army Sports Complex covered hall from August 19- 24.

Abing and his assistant Sudesh Rimal, who is Chief Coach at the National Sports Council, had summoned 25 players as per their performance in the eighth National Games and the squad was reduced to 18 earlier.

On Thursday, the team management axed four players — Raju Sherchan, Durga Mahato, Saran Saamari and Dwarika Thapa. Em Rana Magar has been retained as the skipper of the team that also includes Dhana Bahadur Bhatta Chhetri, Bishal BK, Rajendra Bista, Tek Raj Awasthi, Hari Bahadur Adhikari, Durga Khadka, Deepak Raj Joshi, Narendra Giri, Raj Kumar Niraula, Hari Hajur Thapa, Binod Bahadur Chand, Ishwor Thapa Magar and Kul Bahadur Thapa.

Three players, Rajendra Bista, Durga Khadka and Tek Raj Awasthi, made it to the national team for the first time.

A total of seven nations — Nepal, defending champions Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Afghanistan, Maldives, Kyrgyzstan and Bangladesh — are taking part in the tournament being held in Nepal for the first time. Nepal, who have won a bronze medal for their maiden international medal, will play a couple of friendly matches with Afghanistan before the start of the tournament.

A version of this article appears in print on August 09, 2019 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: