Time out

Ullens lift trophy

KATHMANDU: Wilson Academy clinched the boys’ championship with a comprehensive 59-32 win over Ullens School in the final of the Monsoon Meet Inter-school Basketball Tournament on Saturday. Nawaraj Dahal netted 24 points for Wilson. Ullens, however, claimed the girls’ title with a 44-22 victory over Gyanodaya Bal Batika with Deepa Lama top-scoring with 15 points for Ullens. Likewise, Dhiraj Bhujel scored 12 points to guide National Orchid Boarding School to a narrow 34-31 victory over hosts Shridiwa International School in the final of the junior boys’ section. — HNS

Arunodaya advance

KATHMANDU: Arunodaya, Wilson Academy, New Zenith, Golden Peak and Gyan Niketan entered the junior boys’ section quarter-finals of the fourth Gillette Inter-school Basketball Tournament here on Saturday. Pravin netted 20 as Arunodaya dispatched Greenfield Academy 47-33, Wilson saw off VS Niketan 41-31 and New Zenith overcame Maitidevi School 35-13. Likewise, Golden Peak sneaked past New Summit 38-33 and Gyan Niketan defeated Holy Garden 38-21. In all, 22 teams in junior boys and seven teams in girls’ sections are participating in the tournament. — HNS

‘C’ Division League

LALITPUR: Samajik Youth Club hammered Cannon Club 10-1 in the ‘C’ Division League Football here on Saturday. Bishal Rai scored five, Nabin Basnet twice and Dhruba Shrestha, Sabin Chaudhary and Sunil Malla added one goal each for Samajik. Bishnu Shrestha pulled back one for Cannon. In another match, Sri Kumari Club defeated Naxal Yuva Mandal 6-2. Tanku Lama scored a brace while Rajesh Tuladhar, Rewat Budhathoki, Rakesh Shrestha and Khagendra Bhandari added one goal apiece for Sri Kumari while Bijay Gurung and Kumar Thapa converted for Naxal. Also, Chyasal blanked Satdobato Youth Club 5-0. Robin Byanjankar scored a hat-trick and Bhola Byanjankar and Digesh Khadgi scored one each for Chyasal. Chyasal lead the Group B standing with 10 points. two more than Samijk Youth Club. — HNS

Snow Leopards win

KATHMANDU: Snow Leopards claimed the FedEx Fr Watrin Women’s Basketball Tournament, organised by Godavari Alumni Association, on Saturday. Snow Leopards defeated Rato Bangala 64-45 with Stine Hieselberg netting 33 points for the winners. Sapana Shrestha contributed 15 for Rato Bangala. Janiee Kosman of Snow Leopards won the most valuable award. — HNS