Tushal Club, SGYC win

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, January 18:

Suraj Shrestha and Arjun Rijal scored a goal each as Sano Gaucharan Club beat Machindra Bahal Club 2-1 and Tushal Youth Club beat Kalika Mahabir Youth Club 4-1 at the Martyrs’ Memorial ‘B’ Division League Football Tournament at Dasharath Stadium.

Sano Gaucharan took lead through Suraj Shrestha, who converted the penalty kick which they earned after Santosh Shrestha of Machindra Club handled the ball inside the D-Box. Arjun Rijal of Machindra levelled the score in the first half injury time. Sanjeev Limbu of Sano Gaucharan scored in the 66th minute firing the ball into the open net when Machindra goalkeeper Amit Rai was not in his position.

In the other match, Dabin Shrestha scored twice in Tusal’s 4-1 win over Kalika Club. Asta Ratna Bajracharya put Kalika ahead in the 49th minute taking advantage of the defensive blunder. Dabin Shrestha levelled the score in the 67th minute and gave Tusal a 2-1 lead with another strike a minute later. In the 82nd minute, Krishna Shrestha made it 3-1, leaving Kalika cutodian Sulash Neupane stranded and Manju Thapa completed the rout when he found the net with a close-range shot in the dying moment.