U-19 women cricketers off to Bangkok

Kathmandu, December 11:

A 17-member Nepali women’s cricket team today left for Bangkok to participate in the ACC Under-19 Women’s Championship to be held in Cheng Mai from December 13-23.

Nary Thapa, who led the Nepali team to the final of the first ACC Women’s Cricket Tournament in Malaysia in 2006, is the skipper of the team and Maya Rawat her deputy in the 14-member squad.

Others in the team are Sarita Diswa Magar, Sita Rana Magar, Keshari Chaudhary, Sabina Karki, Gita Chudal, Mamata Thapa, Trishna Singh, Roshani Bohara, Sonu Khadka, Rekha Rawal, Sushmita Chaudhary and Binu Budha Magar.

Jamil Amhed Ansari is the coach, while CAN Vice-President Chatur Bahadur Chand the team manager and CAN Member Uttam Karmacharya the assistant manager. In all, 12 nations are taking part in the tournament. Nepal are in the six-team Group B along with Malaysia, Singapore, Kuwait, China and Bhutan. The UAE, Hong Kong, Qatar, Oman and hosts Thailand are in Group A.

Nepal will open their campaign with a match against Malaysia on December 13. Nepal will take on Bhutan on December 14, before playing Singapore on December 16, Kuwait on December 17 and china on December 20.

Member Secretary of National Sports Council Jeevan Ram Shrestha and CAN President Binay Raj Pandey among others bade farewell to the team.