Young Star claim title

Pokhara, November 11

Young Star Youth Club won the title of the first Pokhara-Lekhnath Open Cricket Tournament here at the Pokhara Stadium today.

In final, Young Star thrashed Rising Pokhara Cricket Club by six wickets. Winners Young Star took home Rs 123,456 and runners-up Rising Pokhara got Rs 54,321.

Put into bat first, Rising Pokhara scored 76-9 in their allotted 20 overs before Young Star — which included six players from India — achieved the target in 15.2 overs. Rising Pokhara’s Alam Khand scored 27 off 36 balls, while Anil Gurung contributed 13 off 17. Young Star’s Indra Saru Magar claimed three wickets, while Sunny Sen took two wickets.

In reply, Young Star achieved the target riding on player-of-the-final Deepak Raj’s 27-ball 44 that included four boundaries and two sixes. Rising Pokhara’s Dipesh Khatri claimed two wickets.

Nanda Raj Sharma of Young Star was declared the player of the series and he received Rs 5,555. Bidhan Shrestha of Shital Devi Club was named the best batsman of the tournament and his teammate Arjun Budhathoki was adjudged the best bowler. National team member Karan KC won the most sixes award with seven sixes.

A total of 16 teams took part in the event organised by Young Star Club under the sponsorship of Samrat Academy. Representative from Samrat Academy Samar Bahadur Thapa, President of Kaski District Cricket Association Sanjay Kant Sigdel among others handed over the prizes to the winners.