Nepal | April 04, 2020

Detailed project report of three mega cities soon

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, December 31

Out of the total proposed seven mega cities across the country, the government will finalise the detailed project report (DPR) of three mega cities within the next few months. The consulting firms, which were appointed in July, are finalising the reports and will submit them to the Department of Urban Development and Building Construction (DUDBC).

The government had signed contract papers with three consulting firms and deployed them in their respective working areas. In the first phase, consultants are studying about a mega city each in Morang-Sunsari, Rupandehi, and Kaski-Tanahu districts of country.

According to Mira Gyawali, senior divisional engineer of DUDBC, the consulting firms have already submitted the initial field reports of the mega cities. “They have submitted the initial reports and we hope that the final reports will be delivered within the next couple of months,” Gyawali informed. “The elections could have affected their works and we hope they will submit reports as soon as possible.”

The DUDBC has proposed to construct a mega city in the eastern region incorporating Biratnagar of Morang district and Dharan and Itahari of Sunsari district in Province 1. Similarly, including Bhairahawa, Butwal and the surrounding areas in between the two cities, a mega city has been planned in Rupandehi of Province 5. Likewise, in Province 4, the government has proposed to construct a mega city by including Pokhara of Kaski district and Damauli of Tanahu district.

The government had proposed to construct seven mega cities in each province through the budget of the current fiscal year 2017-18. The government has planned to construct mega cities incorporating the area between Simara and Birgunj in Province 2, Hetauda-Bharatpur in Province 3 and Dhangadi-Godawari area in Province 7, while the probable area for Province 6 is yet to be finalised.

Though the government has proposed to construct seven mega cities, initial process for the remaining four provinces has not started till date. As per directives from the Ministry of Urban Development, the DUDBC had selected the contractors for three provinces and the initial works have begun.

As per government’s plan, the small cities that have already been established will be incorporated to construct mega cities. All the basic facilities will be available in the mega cities. According to DUDBC, the concept of the mega city was initiated for systematic town development in those areas, which will be the capital of the provinces.

The government has estimated that around Rs six billion will be needed to construct each mega city. However, the exact cost to construct a mega city will be ascertained only after the DPR is completed. The government has planned to construct the mega cities with the participation of the public too.

A version of this article appears in print on January 01, 2018 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: