Paudel, Mahato, Mahaseth, deputies to PM Oli


Prime Minister (PM) KP Sharma Oli has made a major changes in his cabinet replacing all but four ministers, while keeping six major portfolios with himself.

All the newly inducted ministers have been administered oath of office and secrecy by President Bidya Devi Bhandari amid a function in Shitwal Niwas today.

The reshuffling was done as the Janata Samajwadi party-Nepal joined the government today after months of being courted by Oli in a bid to keep his government standing.

Finance Minister Bishnu Paudel, Law Minister Lila Nath Shrestha, Education Minister Krishna Gopal Shrestha, and Physical Infrastructure Minister Basanta Nembang have been retained in the new cabinet.

PM Oli has also made Finance Minister Paudel one of the three Deputy Prime Ministers, the other two being Raghubir Mahaseth and Rajendra Mahato.

Mahaseth is replacing Pradeep Kumar Gyawali as the Foreign Affairs Minister while Rajendra Mahato, who is leading the JSP-N ministers, has secured the Urban Development Ministry.

Likewise, Sher Bahadur Tamang is replacing Health Minister Hridayesh Tripathi.

JSP-N joins Oli-cabinet

From the JSP-N, Sharat Singh Bhandari has been sworn-in as Energy Minister, Bimal Srivastav Labor Minister, Laxman Lal Karna Land Reforms Minister and Anil Jha Water Supplies Minister. Additionally, Uma Shankar Argariya has been given the Youth and Sports Ministry, Chanda Chaudhary Women Children and Social Welfare Ministry and Iqbal Miya Forest Ministry.