KMC preparing to build permanent landfill site at Bancharedanda

Kathmandu, September 26

As locals of Okharpauwa, Nuwakot, continue to obstruct waste disposal, Kathmandu Metropolitan City is preparing to build a permanent landfill site Bancharedanda.

KMC said it had been facing difficulties managing waste in Kathmandu Valley due to frequent disputes with Kkharpauwa locals. “Hence, we are preparing to build a permanent landfill site at Bancharedanda, which will be used to dispose of waste collected in Kathmandu Valley for another 50 years,” said a KMC official.

Thirteen years ago, the government had begun dumping waste at Okharpauwa landfill site. It was just a temporary arrangement and the government had planned to build a new landfill site at Bancharedanda within two years.

However, 13 years on, the government has yet to build the landfill site at Bancharedanda.

“KMC has been bearing the brunt of the delay in operation of the landfill site at Bancharedanda, although more than 18 municipalities in Kathmandu Valley dump waste at Okharpauwa,” Joint Spokesperson at KMC Namaraj Dhakal told The Himalayan Times.

Dhakal said KMC would now play the role of coordinator and mount pressure on the government to build a permanent landfill site at Bancharedanda.

Earlier, Solid Waste Management Technical Support Centre under the Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development was responsible for waste management across the country. However, SWMTSC has been dissolved under the federal set-up.

Kathmandu Valley comprises Kathmandu Metropolitan City, Lalitpur Sub-metropolitan City, Bhaktapur Municipality, Madhyapur Thimi Municipality, Kirtipur Municipality, Tokha Municipality, Budhanilkantha Municipality, Gokarneshwor Municipality, Kageshwori-Manohara Municipality, Shankharapur Municipality, Changunarayan Municipality, Mahamanjushree- Nagarkot Municipality, Suryabinayak Municipality, Mahalaxmi Municipality, Anantalingeshwor Municipality, Godawari Municipality, Karyabinayak Municipality, Dakshinkali Municipality, Chandragiri Municipality, Nagarjun Municipality and Tarakeshwor Municipality.

Kathmandu Valley produces more than 300 metric tonnes waste every day.