Oli to form mini Cabinet today

Kathmandu, October 11

Newly-elected Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli is preparing to form a four-member Cabinet under his leadership on Monday.

According to Krishna Gopal Shrestha, secretary of the party’s central secretariat, Oli will appoint party Vice-chairman Bhim Rawal, Deputy General Secretary Bishnu Poudel and Chief Whip of the Parliamentary Party and close aide of Oli Agni Kharel in his Cabinet as ministers without portfolio.

Oli will expand his Cabinet after consulting Unified CPN-Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal Chair Kamal Thapa and Chairman of Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic Bijaya Gachhadar Kumar, he added.

Shrestha, however, said the major leaders of the coalition would first finalise the election of Speaker, Deputy Speaker, President and Vice-President.

He claimed that the major leaders of the coalition have struck an understanding regarding the Cabinet and other major positions of the government and the legislature but he refused to divulge the details.

Unified CPN-Maoist leaders today said they had not yet worked out who all to send to the government. Party treasurer Haribol Gajurel said one of the three office bearers of the party – General Secretary Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Secretary Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, who is also the deputy leader in the parliamentary party or Gajurel himself – would lead the party in the government.

He said the President or Vice-President would be from his party, besides Speaker and deputy prime minister with charge of home ministry. Gajurel said his party would get from seven to 10 ministries.

Co-spokesperson for RPP-N Mohan Shrestha said his party would join the government under the leadership of party Chairman Kamal Thapa, who would become deputy prime minister with charge of foreign ministry in the Oli-led government.

Sources claimed MJF-D would join the government under the leadership of party Chair Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar as DPM with charge of physical infrastructure and transport ministry.