Ball now in Speaker’s court

Kathmandu, July 13

While what happens next is the question lingering on everyone’s mind, all eyes are now cast on Speaker Onsari Gharti Magar, who has called the House session on Friday to chart a fresh plan of action.

“I will table the no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Oli before the House that day,” Speaker Gharti Magar told journalists. “The motion will mature on July 20, and parliamentary debate will open on July 21.”

“Most probably the motion would be put to vote by July 23,” she said, adding that she would then write to the President to initiate the formation of a new government.

The President will then call on parties to form a consensus government under Article 298 (2) which deals with formation of transitional government.

The Article states: The Prime Minister shall, on the basis of political understanding, be elected no later than seven days   after   the   date   of   the   commencement   of   this Constitution where the Legislature-Parliament is not in recess at the time of commencement of this Constitution,and   after   the   date   on   which   the   session   of   the Legislature-Parliament summoned in accordance with Clause   (6)   of   Article   296   commences   where   the Legislature-Parliament is in recess, and a Council of Ministers     shall     be     formed   under     his     or     her chairpersonship.

In case the consensus government cannot be formed, the President will ask the Parliament to initiate the process of Article 298 (3) which deals with a majoritarian transitional government.

The Article states: In   the   event   of   failure   to   have   an understanding under Clause (2), the Prime Minister shall be elected by a majority of all the then members of the Legislature-Parliament.

That means it could take up to three weeks before we have a new government in place. Till then, the PM and his cabinet will continue as caretaker govt.

Numbers game

KATHMANDU: Support of 298 members is needed to elect new prime minister from existing 595 Parliament members. The new alliance has

The new alliance has so far garnered support from 13 political parties, including the United Democratic Madhesi Front, according to NC leader Bimalendra Nidhi. The combined strength of the supporters will be more than 346.