Nepal | January 17, 2020

CPN-MC selects candidates in Jajarkot for HoR, PA elections

Himalayan News Service

Jajarkot, September 17

CPN-Maoist Centre Jajarkot, has selected candidates for the House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly elections scheduled for November 26.

The district committee meeting held from Friday finalised the candidates unanimously today. Central Committee Secretariat Member Shakti Bahadur Basnet was selected for the House of Representative from the party.

Similarly, Ganesh Prasad Singh and Nar Bahadur Karki’s names were recommended as candidates for Constituency No 1 and 2 respectively for the Provincial Assembly elections.

Singh had taken the party’s responsibilities from the time he was underground and now he is the district in-charge of the party while Karki is a campaigner of social change.

It is said that the names of Singh and Karki were recommended unanimously today.

A source at the CPN-MC said that the district committee had worked hard to recommend both the names. It is reported that the meeting did to reach a conclusion after Maya Prasad Sharma Acharya and Ramdip Acharya claimed the tickets for Constituency No 1.

According to the source, the Acharya duo withdrew after they were convinced that they would be included in the proportional representation system.

Meanwhile, political parties have been preparing to select candidates for the House of Representatives and Provincial Assembly elections after the constituency determination commission decided on one constituency for House of Representative and two for Provincial Assembly in Jajarkot.

A version of this article appears in print on September 18, 2017 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: