Nepal | May 25, 2020

Govt appoints Sarbendra Khanal and Shailendra Khanal as IGPs of NP and APF

THT Online
Share Now:

File: Nepal Police’s Sarbendra Khanal (left) and Armed Police Force Shailendra Khanal. Photos: THT

KATHMANDU: An emergency Cabinet meeting called by Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has decided to appoint Sarbendra Khanal and Shailendra Khanal as Inspector General of Police (IGPs) of Nepal Police and Armed Police Force respectively.

The chiefs of both security forces, Prakash Aryal and Singha Bahadur Shrestha, are due to retire tomorrow, owing to the 30-year service term clause.

DIGs, Ramesh Kharel and Pushkar Karki were in the run for the Chief of Nepal Police. Likewise, Shailendra Khanal edged DIGs Shailendra KC and Puskar KC to the top post of Armed Police Force.

Earlier, Sarbendra Khanal had served as Police Commissioner of Kathmandu, Chief of Dhanusha District, Chief of Narayani Zone before taking over the helm of Metropolitan Crime Division Kathmandu.

Before his appointment as the 27th IGP of Nepal Police, Khanal was serving as chief of Metropolitan Traffic Division Kathmandu.


Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Bayern cruise past Frankfurt 5-2 to stay on title track

Bayern stay four points clear at top Dortmund beat Wolfsburg 2-0 Havertz brace sends Leverkusen past Gladbach BERLIN: Bayern Munich beat Eintracht Frankfurt 5-2 on Saturday, surviving a brief second-half comeback scare to stay four points clear of Borussia Dortmund at the top of the  Read More...

Nepal's Constitution

JSP-N seeks NC support for constitution amendment

Kathmandu, May 23 Janata Samajwadi Party-Nepal leaders today met Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba and urged him to support their demands for constitution amendment to address the demands of marginalised communities, including the Madhesis and Janajatis, when the Parliament would amend Read More...

Oli avoids NCP secretariat meeting on MCC

Kathmandu, May 23 Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli did not attend a meeting called by the Secretariat of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) today to discuss the Millennium Challenge Corporation agreement and some budgetary issues. Party Spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha said that other leader Read More...

Grande Hospital staffer infected

KATHMANDU: The person who tested positive for coronavirus in Kathmandu on Saturday is a staffer at Grande International Hospital. He used to bring laboratory samples collected from the hospital to the National Public Health Laboratory. Contact tracing of the person will begin on Sunday,” sai Read More...

19 new cases confirmed on Sunday, nationwide COVID-19 count reaches 603

KATHMANDU: Nineteen new cases of COVID-19 have been confirmed by the Ministry of Health and Population, today, taking the nationwide tally to 603. The infections were confirmed through tests carried out at Provincial Public Health Laboratory, Biratnagar, Provincial Public Health Laboratory, Bhair Read More...

Borussia Dortmund

Dortmund ease past Wolfsburg 2-0 to stay in title hunt

Dortmund make it six wins in a row Hummels taken off with heel injury BERLIN: Borussia Dortmund scored a goal in each half through Raphael Guerreiro and Achraf Hakimi to beat hosts VfL Wolfsburg 2-0 on Saturday for their sixth straight Bundesliga win to stay on the heels of leaders Bay Read More...

22 health workers, including 5 doctors, to be kept in isolation

Hetauda, May 23 Hetauda Hospital has decided to keep 22 health workers and staffers, including its medical superintendent, in isolation for a week after a woman referred from the hospital to Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital, Maharajgunj for treatment tested positive for COVID-19. The wom Read More...

Hotels to provide rooms to quarantine healthcare workers

Kathmandu, May 23 Tourist standard hotels within the valley have reached agreement with the government to provide rooms to healthcare workers fighting on the frontline against the COVID-19 pandemic. A meeting yesterday between Nepal Tourism Board and Federation of Hotel Entrepreneurs decided t Read More...