Khotang, December 5

The locals of Khotang disrupted vehicular movement in different places of the district today demanding that the Diprung Village Assembly be kept intact as proposed by the Local Bodies Restructuring Technical Support Committee.

The residents of Chhorambu, Sapteshwor Chhitapokhari and Batase VDCs have demanded that the proposed Diprung Village Assembly be kept intact.

The agitating protesters brought vehicular movement along the Tuwakhola–Regmitar and Kharuwakhola–Tuwakhola road sections to a grinding halt today. They have announced that the disruption will continue until their demands are addressed, as per Diprung Village Assembly Struggle Committee Coordinator Meru Kumar Rai.

The locals were agitated after the residents of Yamkha, Dandagaun and Temma demanded to change the centre by merging Temma VDC with Diprung Village Assembly.

The locals have also warned they will disconnect the 33 KVA Gaighat–Diktel transmission line. Though the agitating locals have sat for dialogue with the technical committee several times, the talks have ended inconclusively so far.