Amidst protest and boycott from the CPN-UML, Lumbini Chief Minister Kul Prasad KC passed the floor test in the Provincial Assembly today.

KC, the CPN-Maoist Centre Lumbini Province parliamentary party leader was appointed chief minister with support from the Nepali Congress, Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal and Rastriya Janamorcha on August 11.

KC won the vote of confidence with 42 votes in the PA.

The Provincial Assembly has 80 lawmakers. The CPN-UML has 37 PA members. CPN-UML lawmakers had boycotted the PA meeting, while Deputy Speaker Krishni Tharu had remained neutral.

Speaker Purna Bahadur Gharti announced that KC had won the trust vote as per Article 188(1) of the constitution.

CPN-UML lawmakers had been obstructing the provincial assembly saying they would not allow the PA to proceed unless lawmakers Ajay Shahi and Bimala Kumari, who were elected with the sun as election symbol were relieved of their responsibilities.

They had boycotted the assembly today.

Province Governor Amik Sherchan had appointed Kul Prasad KC chief minister on August 11 and administered oath of office and secrecy to six ministers from the NC-CPN- MC-JSP-N alliance after the CM's appointment.

A version of this article appears in the print on August 24 2021, of The Himalayan Times.