CPN-UML Sudurpashchim Province Committee has sought clarification from the newly-appointed ministers and state ministers of Chief Minister Trilochan Bhatta-led Cabinet.

According to UML provincial committee secretary Rajendra Rawal, Financial Affairs and Law Minister Purna Joshi, Social Development Minister Lal Bahadur Khadka and Physical Infrastructure Minister Dhirgha Sodari have been told to furnish clarification within 24 hours.

Similarly, clarification has also been sought from newly-appointed state ministers Chun Kumari Chaudhary, Archana Gahatraj and Mana Saud. Further, UML leader Rawal said the chief whip of the provincial parliamentary party Durga Kami has also been asked to submit clarification.

Earlier, citing their reluctance to withdraw from the government and decision in defiance of the party standing committee decision, the UML provincial committee had decided to expel Financial Affairs and Planning Minister Prakash B Shah, former Social Development minister Krishnaraj Subedi and former Industry, Tourism, Forest and Environment minister Maya Bhatta from the party's general membership.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 30, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.