Four national records shattered in swimming

Kathmandu, June 22

Four swimmers shattered national records in the Age-group and Open Swimming Championship organised by Nepal Swimming Association to mark the Olympic Day, here at the International Swimming Complex today.

Jenish Maharjan won the U-12 boys’ 50m breaststroke gold medal in 40.53 seconds breaking the record of 42.56 seconds held by Tarun Bhandari. Adarsha Karki came second in 42 seconds, while Arun Bhandari was third in 42.37 seconds. Upasti Lama shattered the record in girls’ section completing the 50m distance in 40.13 seconds eclipsing Dubana Lama’s mark of 41.72 seconds. Lama finished second in 40.50 seconds, while Anusiya Tandukar came third.

Tisa Shakya broke her own mark of 41.03 seconds in the girls’ U-14 breaststroke record completing the distance in 40.91 seconds. Shrebi Maharjan and Tenzing Sherpa won silver and bronze respectively. Dubana Lama won the U-12 girls’ freestyle gold medal in 32.47 seconds bettering her own mark of 33.53, while Anusiya Tandukar and Upasti Maharjan came second and third respectively.

Other gold medallists of the two-day competition included Lisan Dangol and Ritina Shakya (U-10yrs 50m breaststroke), Sagar Nayak (U-14yrs 50m breaststroke), Baidagya Raj Joshi and Tenzing Yiga Lama (U-17yrs 50m breaststroke), Irvin Shrestha and Ayukti Thapa (U-10yrs 50m freestyle), Jenish Maharjan (U-12yrs 50m freestyle), Maulik Maharjan and Tenzing Sherpa (U-14yrs 50m freestyle), Nitesh Manandhar and Tenzing Yiga Lama (U-17 50m freestyle).


Dal Bahadur Chaudhary, Bimal Rokka, Namgyal Sherpa, Pradip Maharjan, Ek Bahadur Ghale and Gita Thapa Magar won gold medals in boxing tournament. Tribhuvan Army Club boxer Chaudhary defeated national team member Sushil Thapa in the 52kg weight category final, while his TAC teammate Rokka beat Surendra Rai of Jhapa in the 56kg final. Sherpa and Maharjan were declared joint winners in the 49kg weight category, while TAC boxer Ghale beat Bishal Shrestha in the 49kg weight category final.

In the only bout in women’s section, Thapa Magar beat Mala Rai of national team in 51kg weight category. Nepal Olympic Committee President Jeevan Ram Shrestha and Nepal Boxing Association President Ram Awale among others handed over the prizes to the winners.


Umesh Masahargi and Saraswoti Bhattarai won gold medals in the Athletics Championship. Masahargi completed the one-mile distance in four minutes and 32.7 seconds to win men’s section race, while Ajit Kumar Yadav (4:33.5) and Ramji Basnet (4:35.3) came second and third respectively.

Bhattarai won women’s section gold medals with the timing of five minutes and 36.9 seconds, finishing ahead of Sanmaya Karki (5:37.8) and Sarita Basi (5:38.1). A total of 150 players competed in the event organised by Nepal Athletics Association. South Asian Games record holder marathon legend Baikuntha Manandhar handed over the prizes to the winners.


Dilisha Chhantyal won gold medal in Sambo Tournament organised by Nepal Sambo Association to mark the Olympic Day. Chhantyal defeated Rojina Shrestha in the women’s 45kg weight category. Roshana Khadka (25kg)and Pabitra Bista (35kg) also bagged gold medals in girls’ section.

In boys’ category, Ashish Karki (25kg), Shishir BK (30kg), Sujan Khatiwada (35kg), Pemba Sherpa (40kg), Padam Damai (45kg), Bikal Chhantyal (56kg), and Agrim Kayat (open) claimed gold medals. Tokha Municipality Mayor Prakash Adhikari, Ward No 9 Chairman Jog Prasad Nepal and NSA General Secretary Uttam Shrestha among others handed over the prizes to the winners.


All Nepal Football Association defeated Nepal Sports Journalists Forum 6-2 in a friendly match at the ANFA Complex grounds. Dhirendra Pradhan, Gaurav Thapa, Sanjeev Mishra, Ravi Maharjan, Naniram Thapa Magar and Laba Khatri scored a goal each for ANFA, while Ayush Khadka and Avash Ghimire netted one apiece for NSJF.