Makawanpur beat NSC United, win U-16 Academy Cup crown

Pokhara, June 17

Makawanpur Cricket Academy won the title of the Sponsor U-16 Academy Cup here at the Machhapuchhre Cricket Club grounds today.

Makawanpur defeated Nepal Cricket School United by 41 runs in the final. Opting to bat first, Makawanpur scored 108-7 in their allotted 20 overs before packing NSC United for paltry 67 runs in 15.5 overs.

Shubha Kansakar scored 20-ball 31 hitting four sixes and Suraj Timalsina contributed 23 off 29 with the help of a boundary to guide Makawanpur to a respectable total. Kansakar and Timalsina shared a 48-run partnership for the fifth wicket. Skipper Sarans Gautam scored 14 off 16 balls. Nitesh Yadav claimed two wickets, while Shashank Agrawal took one wicket each for NSC United.

In reply, NSC United batsmen failed to score runs against disciplined bowling from Makawanpur bowlers. Birat Bhandari, who cracked three boundaries, and Pratish GC, who hit two fours, were the joint highest scorers for NSC United with 17 runs each. Sachin Sharma (14 off 32) also scored in double figures.

Man-of-the-match Sakar Gajurel (3-7) and Shubha Kansakar (3-5) shared six wickets between them, while Raju Yadav and Sarans Gautam claimed two wickets each for Makawanpur. Champions Makawanpur earned a purse of Rs 75,000, while runners-up NSC United got Rs 35,000.

Sakar Gajurel of Makawanpur was named the player of the tournament, while Mekh Bahadur Sen of Pokhara Cricket Academy got the best bowler’s award and Rit Gautam of NSC United was declared the best batsman. They were awarded with a cricket bat each.

Khukuri Ent and Devibas Events and Media Pvt Ltd jointly organised the event under the sponsorship of Sponsor drink.