MMC open with win

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, April 17:

Basanta Thapa came off the bench and scored two goals as injury-hit Manang Marsyangdi Club (MMC) defeated Mahabir Club 2-1 in the inaugural match of the Martyrs’ Memorial Everest ‘A’ Division League Football Tournament here at Dasharath Stadium today. After a tedious first half, the defending champions once again needed the services of Basanta Thapa to break the deadlock in the 58th minute. Thapa, who substituted injured Tashi Tshering in the 56th minute, headed the ball into the net on Basanta Gauchan’s cross. Thapa, who was not expected to play in the day’s match due to injury picked during the Khukuri Cup tournament last month, collected a pass from Rajesh Shahi inside the six-yard box and dodged Mahavir Club goalkeeper Sujit Rana before firing into the empty net. In the 90th minute, a spectacular free-kick from Gudia Rai reduced the margin for Mahabir Club, but was too late to respond. Mahavir Club earned the free-kick in the D-Box line after MMC goalkeeper Binod Dangol handled the ball in restricted area.

MMC came close to scoring in the 42nd minute but Basanta Gauchan’s close range shot went wide. In the first half injury time, Umesh Upreti of MMC missed a free header on skipper Kumar Thapa’s corner. In the 77th minute, Mahabir Club striker Dipesh Thapa’s attempt from the D-Box went wide, while skipper Babin Bista, taking the pass from Bikarna Shrestha, hit the post after a minute.

Umesh Upreti and Anil Subba of MMC were cautioned by referee Sri Ram Ranjitkar. Earlier, Kishor Bahadur Singh, member secretary of National Sports Council, inaugurated the three-month tournament being participated by 13 teams. On Sunday, last year’s runner-up Mahendra Police Club (MPC) will take on Brigade Boys Club at the same venue.

Kathmandu Club announce 22-member squad

KATHMANDU: Kathmandu Club announced the 22-member squad for the ongoing Martyrs’ Memorial Everest ‘A’ Division League Football Tournament here today. According to the release issued by the club president Sanjiv Mishra, former team national goalkeeper Mrigendra Mishra will also take part in the tournament as coach-cum-player. Amrit Bajracharya will lead the club, while Sarad Lal Shrestha, Sailendra Mishra and Raju Joshi are the manager, assistant manager and team official respectively. Kathmandu Club will play New Road Team (NRT) on Monday.

The squad include goalkeepers Amir Byanjankar and Sanjiv Shahi, Raju Thapa, Pankaj Shahi, Sashi Shrestha, Santosh Man Singh, Nabindra Maharjan, Bhola Rokka, Bishnu Tandukar, Gokarna Adhikari, Rupesh Dhoubanjar, Bijay Shahi, Rajesh Shrestha, Madhav KC, Radheshya Prajapati, Chandra Buddhacharya, Anil Gurung, Manoj Thapa, Birendra Rai and American player Keneth Williams. — HNS