Newcomers Satdobato Youth Club stunned Manang Marshyangdi Club 2-1 in the Qatar Airways Martyrs Memorial A Division League, while Nepal APF Club beat Himalayan Sherpa Club 1-0 here at the Dasharath Stadium today.

Martin Adelphe Silo Nanga and Martins Kayode Ajayi scored for Satdobato in the first half before Afeez Olawale Oladipo replied for MMC in the latter half.

With their third win in nine matches, Satdobato moved up to sixth with 12 points, while MMC remained second on 19 after their second defeat in the league.

Satdobato took an early lead after Nanga's header deflected to MMC defender Ekraj Budhathoki before entering the goal in the 11th minute. The Lalitpur-based club doubled the tally in the 38th minute when Ajayi headed home following a cross from Prashant Awasthi.

MMC reduced the deficit in the 57th minute when Oladipo found the back of the nets from the box after Satdobato defenders failed to clear the ball properly.

MMC created a couple of chances to level the scores but they failed to penetrate through Satdobato defense line.

Earlier, Awas Lamichhane scored the solitary goal of the match as APF beat Himalayan Sherpa for their second victory. The departmental side moved up to ninth position with 10 points, behind New Road Team on inferior goal difference, while Himalayan Sherpa are seventh on 11 points.

Defending champions Machhindra Football Club are at the top of the table with 20 points from eight matches and they can extend the lead to four points with victory over Brigade Boys Club on Saturday. Third-placed Sankata Club and Tribhuvan Army Club have 14 points each, while Three Star Club have 13.

At the bottom half of the table, NRT and APF are two points ahead of Jawalakhel Youth Club, while Nepal Police Club are 11th on seven, one more than BBC.

Chyasal Youth Club (five) and Friends Club (three) are the bottom two clubs.

A version of this article appears in the print on January 15, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.