The Mahanta Thakur- Rajendra Mahato faction of Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal, in a retaliatory move, has expelled chair Upendra Yadav from the party.

Earlier today, the executive committee of Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal had decided to expel four senior party figures, including chair Mahanta Thakur.

The Upendra Yadav-Baburam Bhattarai faction decided to take action against Thakur, Rajendra Mahato, Sarvendra Nath Shukla and Laxman Lal Karna at a time when Thakur-Mahato have expedited dialogues with Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli to join the government.

Read also: JSP-N executive committee expels Thakur, Mahato, two others

Meanwhile, the government has reached a six-point deal with Tharu Welfare Society, Tharuhat-Tharuwan Joint Struggle Committee, setting stage for Mahato-Thakur faction to join the government.

Read also: Govt strikes six-point deal with Tharuhat-Tharuwan; to initiate release of Resham Chaudhary