The Nepali Congress and Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal have reached a two-point agreement, ensuring the NC's involvement in the government led by JSP-N.

Chief Minister and Parliamentary Party leader Lal Babu Raut and NC Parliamentary Party leader Ram Saroj Yadav signed the agreement. As per the agreement, the NC will join the JSP-N led government for democracy, federalism, inclusive and proportional representation and protection and promotion of province rights. The NC will join the government under the leadership of Yadav, the agreement stated.

Similarly, the Cabinet structure and its work division will be made more scientific as per experts' recommendation and the province's needs. Even the Maoist Centre has decided to join the JSP-N-led government.

The NC will hold two ministries and the Maoist Centre will also have two ministries.

Personal Secretary to CM Raut Jitendra Yadav informed that ministries to be allocated to the NC were decided and ministers from the NC would be administered oath after a while.

Yadav is to take the Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Om Prakash the Ministry of Energy and Drinking Water, and Birendra Prasad Singh the Ministry of Women, Children, Youth and Sports. Moreover, Bharat Saha and Jagat Yadav are also joining the government.

However, the ministry allocation is yet to be finalised.

With the involvement of NC and Maoist Centre in the government, there will be 10 ministries in Province 2. The Cabinet meeting on Monday had decided to increase the number of ministries from six to 10.

A version of this article appears in the print on June 10, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.