Incumbent CM likely to lose his mantle


Province 1 Chief Minister Bhim Acharya is all set to take vote of confidence, today.

CM Acharya, who was appointed to the post on August 26, had lost majority in the provincial assembly within weeks, soon after the splinter group from the CPN-UML -- the CPN Unified Socialist -- had gained recognition as a separate party from the Election Commission.

The UML had also lost majority in Bagmati Province following the CPN-US' registration.

As per political pundits, the Province 1 CM is likely to face a setback and lose the trust vote as the ruling party commands the favour of only 41 UML lawmakers in the 92 lawmaker-strong assembly.

Meanwhile, the opposition boasts of a strong alliance between Nepali Congress (21 lawmakers), CPN-US (10 lawmakers), CPN Maoist Centre (15 lawmakers), Janata Samajbadi Party Nepal (3) and Loktantrik Limbuwan Rastriya Manch (1) -- amounting to a majority of 50 lawmakers.

Should the CM fail to garner adequate votes, the governor will call for the formation of a new government pursuant to article 168 (2) of the constitution.