The major opposition party CPN-UML today formed an 80-member politburo.

The second meeting of the central committee convened in Bhaktapur also nominated 44 members for central committee and formed provincial committee in all seven provinces, according to Mahesh Basnet, one of the central committee members.

Basnet shared that the politburo members include Ghanashyam Bhusal, Guru Baral, Bhanubhakta Dhakal, Sita Poudel, Binda Pandey and Sher Bahadur Tamang, among others.

Similarly, Gokul Banskota, Mahesh Basnet, Baijanath Chaudhary, Hikmat Karki and Lila Giri were also picked as politburo members.

Likewise, 44 people, including 29 males and 14 females were nominated in the central committee.

They include Dal Fadera, Lal Babu Pandit, Yagya Bogati, among others. Chandra Mohan, Resham Lama, Durga Prasai, Bisamlal Adhikari, among others were central committee members who joined the party through unification bid.

From the women category, Indiradevi Gautam, Uma Koirala, Taradevi Gurung, Nainkala Purja, among other,s were nominated.

A new provincial committee has been formed in the wake of new leadership elected through the party's 10th national convention.

Province 1 committee is chaired by Tulsi Neupane and co-chaired by Tika Chemjong.

Ram Awatar Yadav and Rewati Panta have been nominated as chairperson and vice-chairperson of Province 2 respectively. Likewise, Keshavraj Pandey is chair while Ramhari Subedi is vice-chair of Bagmati Province.

Nawaraj Sharma and Mohan Regmi have been picked as chair and vicechair of Gandaki Province respectively.

Radhakrishna Kandel and Bhojprasad Shrestha have been nominated as chairperson and vicechair of Lumbini Province respectively.

Likewise, Binod Shah and Lal Bahadur Mahatara have been nominated as chair and vice-chair of Karnali Province respectively.

Damodar Bhandari is chair while Kamal Timalsina is vice-chair of Sudurpaschim Province.

The new provincial committee will select a new leadership in the province organisation committee. The members for the Standing Committee will be picked from the new politburo.

A version of this article appears in the print on December 13, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.